Frances Oliver

Frances Oliver has published six novels and a book of short stories, and self-published three memoirs. She was born in Vienna, grew up in the USA, and has since lived, worked and travelled in a number of countries, finally settling in Cornwall. When not writing she devotes much time to environmental campaigns.

By the same author:

All Souls,
The Tourist Season
Children of Epiphany
The Peacock’s Eye
Dancing on Air (stories)
The Ghosts of Summer

Girl in a Freudian Slip
Jaundiced in Antalya
Farewell to William Tell

Goodreads review
Des lewis
This is a remarkable fiction work that brings back all my satisfying memories of reading the great Frances Oliver from years past — the emergence of this new novel becoming a poignant, idiosyncratic, yet traditional, novel, companionably observed, comprising four separate but interconnected stories as centred on a healing Magic Mountain of a Swiss spa, stories taking place over centuries, involving a compelling pattern of characters with tantalising ghostly auras as well as rounded real personalities.
Four very different people, in four different centuries, come to a thermal spring high in the Swiss Alps. They may not find the healing they or their companions seek, but all will find their lives changed dramatically and forever. This novel tells their stories and also something of the legends or travesties that future ages will make of them.